In the province of Navarra. It draws together areas of different climates and soils, which produce wines with diverse characteristics.


Typical of dry, sub-humid regions in the northern fringe, with average rainfall of between 593 mm and 683 mm per year. The climate in the central region is transitional and changes to drier conditions in southern regions, where the average annual rainfall is a mere 448 mm.


The diversity of the different regions is also reflected in the soil.

Reddish or yellowish and stony in the Baja Montaña, brownish-grey limestone and limestone in Valdizarbe and Tierra Estella, limestone and alluvium marl in the Ribera Alta, and brown and grey semi-desert soil, brownish-grey limestone and alluvium in the Ribera Baja.


White: Chardonnay (2%), Garnacha Blanca, Malvasía, Moscatel de Grano Menudo, Viura (6% of total) and Sauvignon Blanc.

Red: Cabernet Sauvignon (9%), Garnacha Tinta (majority 42% of total), Graciano, Mazuelo, Merlot, Tempranillo (29%), Syrah and Pinot Noir.


Baja Montaña. Situated northeast of Navarra, it comprises 22 municipal districts with around 2,500 Ha under cultivation.

Tierra Estella. In western central Navarra, it stretches along the Camino de Santiago. It has 1,800 Ha of vineyards in 38 municipal districts.

Valdizarbe. In central Navarra. It is the key centre of the Camino de Santiago. It comprises 25 municipal districts and has 1,100 Ha of vineyards.

Ribera Alta. In the area around Olite, it takes in part of central Navarra and the start of the southern region. There are 26 municipal districts and 3,300 Ha of vineyards.

Ribera Baja. In the south of the province, it is the most important in terms of size (4,600 Ha). It comprises 14 municipal districts.


Vineyard surface: 11,700 – Wine-Growers: 2,716 – Wineries: 113 – 2011 Harvest rating: Very Good – Production: 47,796,986 litres – Market percentages: 68% domestic. 32% export